Aspen Poulson is Aberdeen’s 2014 Distinguished Young Woman


Aberdeen High School junior Aspen Arielle Poulson was crowned Aberdeen’s Distinguished Young Woman 2014 at the conclusion of the program held Saturday, April 20, at 7 p.m. in the Aberdeen Middle School gymnasium.

Adrielle Duffin and Jenna Coray, portraying airline stewardesses, served as masters of ceremonies for the program with the theme of “Destinations.” Through the program, the contestants visited Africa, Paris and the Caribbean.

With eight girls participating this year, the program had two groups of participants showing off their fitness skills, talents and self-expression in the form of poise, dress choice and brief statements on their thoughts on life.

Aspen was awarded a scholarship for $1,200 for being named Aberdeen’s Distinguished Young Woman 2014. She also was named in the top two in interview and fitness. Each of those awards were for $200. She received a total of $1,600.

She is the daughter of Scott and Dianne Poulson.

First runner-up was Kira Shelman, daughter of Tod and Sue Ann Shelman, who was awarded a $900 scholarship. Kira also received one of the top two finishes in scholastic and talent at $200 each. Her total awards were $1,300.

Second runner-up was Kamille Lynnette Foster, daughter of Gary and Kandie Foster. She was awarded a $650 scholarship.

Third runner-up, Shelbey Janet Warren, daughter of Kevin and Tamara Warren, received a $400 scholarship. She was also named in the top two in self-expression for another $200 scholarship, making her total $600.

The Be Your Best Self award was given to Isela Carrillo, daughter of Jose Carrillo and Martha Serna. She received a $200 scholarship.

The Spirit award, worth $200, was given to Priscilla Villegas, daughter of Jose Sr. and Mercelda Villegas.

Marissa Jean Andersen, daughter of Glenn and Tamra Andersen, was awarded the second scholastic and interview awards. She received $200 each for those for a total of $400.

April Mariah Beck, daughter of Brian and Flor Beck, received one of the top two awards in fitness, self-expression, and talent, for a total scholarship of $600.

Escorts for the evening were Clancy Beck, Zane Bono, Alex Cardona, Toni Medel, Jared Moser, Will Toevs, Carson Woods and Bridger Vollmer.

Ticket sales awards went to Kira Shelman – first place, who received a $40 gift certificate, Priscill Villegas – second place, who received a $35 gift certificate, and Kamille Foster – third place, who received a $30 gift certificate.

Special numbers were presented by Aberdeen’s 2013 Distinguished Young Woman Lauren Sargent, Carolee Beck, the DYW 2013 Forget Me Nots, and Jenna Corray, 2013 Miss Rexburg. Also, during the program it was announced that Aberdeen’s Distinguished Young Women Program 2013 had received a 4 Star Award for the 2013 program.

The Distinguished Young Women Program was videotaped by Dwight and Dexton Wallace. Anyone wanting a copy of the program should send a check for $25 each, along with the purchaser’s name, phone number and mailing address to: Dexton Wallace, PO Box 841, Aberdeen, ID 83210. For more information contact Dwight Wallace at 317-3844.

The Distinguished Young Women program is under the direction of Jeff and Chana Duffin, Aimee Elliott, Krystle Vollmer and Adrielle Duffin.

The sound was provided by Marc Elliott. Decorations were by Connie Peck and Shelley Funk. Lights were by Kyran Palmer, Ethan Elliott and Chandler Foster.

The Distinguished Young Women program is sponsored by the Aberdeen Chamber of Commerce. The chamber thanks everyone who was involved to make the program possible and such a great success.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *