Primary election races set for Bingham County

Bingham County voters will be offered three contested races when the primary election is held Tuesday, May 20. All of the races are dependent on write-in candidates not filing prior to that deadline.

In one of the contested races, Republicans Pam Wray Eckhardt and Leah Rigby are running for Clerk of the District Court. No Democrats filed for any of the positions.

Republican Ronald J. Simmons is running unopposed for Bingham County Assessor.

For Bingham County Commissioner, Republican Mark R. Bair is running unopposed for District 1 and Republicans Whitney Manwaring and Ralph West are running for District 2.

Republicans Tanna Beal and Dev D. Sasser are running for Bingham County Treasurer.

Republican Mike Gardner is running unopposed for coroner.

There are no Precinct Committeemen that are Democrats. All are Republican. Those committeemen and their precincts are:  Precinct 1 – Kim A. Wolfley, Precinct 2 – vacant, Precinct 3 – Donavan D. Harrington, Precinct 4 – Dan Cravens, Precinct 5 – Ginette C. Manwaring, Precinct 6 – Shawn Paul Croft, Precinct 7 – Matthew T. Thompson, Precinct 8 – vacant, Precinct 9 – Judith Ann Hale, Precinct 10 – Betty Ann Bitter, Precinct 11 – vacant, Precinct 12 – Lon Harrington, Precinct 13 – vacant, Precinct 14 – vacant, Precinct 15 – Christopher Pratt, Precinct 16 – Herb Bohrer, Precinct 17 – Amy Sorensen, Precinct 18 – Cindy C. Kofford, Precinct 19 – vacant, Precinct 20 – vacant, Precinct 21 – Barry F. Johnson, Precinct 22 – vacant, Precinct 23 – Lynette George, Precinct 24 – vacant, Precinct 25 – Ronald Murdock, and Precincts 26, 27 and 28 are vacant.

Legislative District 31

All three incumbent Republican legislators from District 31, representing Bingham County, will be running unopposed. State Sen. Steve Bair of Blackfoot, State Rep. Neil A. Anderson of Blackfoot and State. Rep. Julie VanOrden of Pingree drew no competition for the primary or general election.

State Races

Meanwhile, statewide races have drawn considerable interest, with most incumbents facing primary as well as general election competition.

Incumbent Republican U.S. Senator Jim Risch will face primary competition from Jeremy “T” Anderson, both listing Boise addresses. Democrats running for the position are Nels Mitchell from Boise and William Bryk, whose address is listed from Brooklyn, NY.

Incumbent Republican District 2 U.S. Representative Mike Simpson is facing a primary challenge from Bryan D. Smith of Idaho Falls. Challenging for the position from the Democratic Party in November will be former congressman Richard Stallings, who now resides in Island Park.

Incumbent Republican Governor C.L. “Butch” Otter will face three primary opponents, Walt Bayes of Emmett, Harley D. Brown of Nampa and Russell M. Fulcher of Meridian. Two Democrats vying to make it to the general election are A.J. Balukoff of Boise and Terry Kerr of Idaho Falls.

Incumbent Republican Lieutenant Governor Brad Little of Emmett will be challenged by Jim Chmelik of Cottonwood in the primary. The winner will face Bert Marley of McCammon in the general election.

Four Republicans and one Democrat will be vying for the open position of Idaho Secretary of State. Republicans facing off in the primary are Lawerence E. Denney of Midvale, Evan S. Frasure of Pocatello, Phil McGrane of Garden City and Mitch Toryanski of Boise. The winner of that primary race will face Democrat Holli Woodings of Boise in the general election.

Republican State Controller Brandon D. Woolf will be challenged by Todd Hatfield of Eagle in the primary election, with no Democrat filing for that race.

Incumbent Republican State Treasurer Ron Crane will not face primary opposition, but will face the winner of the Democratic primary race between Deborah Silver of Twin Falls and W. Lane Startin of Boise.

Incumbent Republican Attorney General Lawrence Wasden will be challenged by C.T. “Chris” Troupis of Boise in the primary. Democratic challenger in the general election will be Bruce S. Bistline.

The race for Superintendent of Public Instruction will be wide open, with the Republican primary race including American Falls resident Randy Jensen, John R. Eynon of Grangeville, Andrew Grover of Melba and Sherri Ybarra of Mountain Home. Running on the Democratic ticket is Jana Jones of Idaho Falls.

Bingham County voters will also have the opportunity to vote on several Supreme Court, Appellate Court and District Court judgeships.

Thanks for reading!

Read more in this week's print edition.Subscribe Today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *