Aberdeen city sees new council members, new mayor

Residents of Aberdeen now have a new mayor and two new council members after they were given the oath of office at the meeting held Tuesday, Jan. 12. Also, Craig Wampler took the oath of office to serve another term as council member.

Larry Barrett will be taking over as mayor of Aberdeen after Morgan Anderson retired. Barrett was elected in the city elections held in November. New members of the council are Denise Wahlen and Alan Summers. They were also elected in November and Wampler was re-elected at that time.

Anderson gave the oath of office to Barrett and then Barrett, serving as the new mayor, issued the oath of office to Wahlen, Summers and Wampler.

Departments were rearranged, and a new economic development committee formed. On the economic development committee will be Karalee Krehbiel, Mary Leisy, Denise Wahlen and Jeremy Marley will sit on the committee as a community member. Buck Copeland was also appointed and approved to sit on the Planning and Zoning board. …

Read the full story in the print edition of The Aberdeen Times! Subscribe Today!

Thanks for reading!

Read more in this week's print edition.Subscribe Today!

1 comment for “Aberdeen city sees new council members, new mayor

  1. Leon
    January 26, 2016 at 5:58 pm

    I’m excited for the future!

Leave a Reply to Leon Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *